Skip to Content

Revise Published Assessments

This guide assists with revising assessments which are published. If you need to revise an assessment that has not yet been published, please view the guide on Revising Unpublished Assessments.


Modifying Assessments Before Participants Begin

Once you've published an assessment, you can edit settings, questions, parts, points, and other aspects of the assessment as long as the assessment has not been started by a site participant.

Once a site participant begins the Assessment, the assessment questions are locked and cannot be modified. You are able to edit the assessment's settings (due date, number of submissions, feedback, etc).

Modifying Assessment Questions, Points, or Parts After Participants Begin

Once an assessment has been published and started, you must retract the assessment and stop accepting submissions from the site participants if any changes need to be made.

You will have to republish the assessment with a new name and scores will not transfer to the new assessment.


Revise a Published Assessment

Retracting a Published Assessment

  1. On the left Tool List of your site, select Assessments.
  2. In the Published Assessments: released to students tab, select Settings and Publish from the drop-down Action menu next to the assessment.
  3. Select Availability and Submissions and then select Stop Accepting Now.
  4. Select Stop Accepting to retract the assessment.

Modifying a Retracted Assessment

You will have to retract the assessment you wish to make your changes to and then republish the assessment with a new name. To do this please use the follow these steps:

  1. On the left Tool List of your site, select Assessments.
  2. In the Published Assessments: released to students tab, select Settings and Publish from the drop-down Action menu next to the assessment.
  3. Select Availability and Submissions and then select Stop Accepting Now. Select Stop Accepting to retract the assessment.
  4. In the Assessments: not released to students tab, select Edit from the drop-down Action menu.

You must change the name of the assessment. TRACS does not allow two assessments with the same name published on the same site.

  1. Once your changes have been made, select Settings and Publish and then select About this Assessment.
  2. Change the title of your Assessment.
  3. Select Save Settings and Publish to release the newly-modified assessment.

Make a Retracted Assessment Available Again

  1. Select Availability and Submissions and change the available, due and accept until dates to make the assessment available to students again.
  2. Select Save to accept your settings.

Delete a Published Assessment

You are only able to delete a published assessment if there are NO SCORES associated with it. If there are any scores for the assessment, you will have to delete the assessment attempt(s) in order to delete the assessment.

  1. On the left Tool List of your site, select Assessments.
  2. In the Published Assessments: released to students tab, select Remove from the drop-down Action menu next to the assessment.
  3. Select Remove to delete the assessment.

Revise Settings in a Published Assessment

You will not need to retract an assessment in order to change the settings of an assessment. If a student has already begun or is currently completing an assessment you wish to make changes to, the changes will be applied while the student is taking their assessment.

  1. On the left Tool List of your site, select Assessments.
  2. In the Published Assessments: released to students tab, select Settings and Publish from the drop-down Action menu next to the assessment.
  3. Make your change(s) to the assessment settings.
  4. Select Save to accept your settings.