Skip to Content

Dropped Student Handling

Viewing Inactive Students

Students who have dropped the course will be marked as Inactive and will be automatically hidden from view in Gradebook.

  1. In the left Tool List of your site, select Gradebook.
  2. Select Show to the left of Inactive Participants below the All Sections drop-down menu.
  3. Inactive users will appear in alphabetical order by last name, in gray and will be struck-through.

Here is a table to help you determine how to handle inactive (dropped) students:

Drop Date Required Action
Before Census (12th Class) Date No action is required. The student is removed from the site. A grade will not be submitted for the student.
After Census (12th Class Date) and before University Registrar's drop deadline No action is required. The student is removed from the site. The student will automatically be assigned an appropriate grade in the Banner System and you will see this reflected in your Grade Submission Receipt.
After University Registrar's drop deadline An appropriate drop grade will need to be assigned to the student in the Grade Override window in Gradebook. This will be the grade submitted to Banner for the student.